➥ Loading Saint Helena Island Info



Our Sister Islands

Part of our Territory

You may be as different as the sun and the moon, but the same blood flows through both your hearts. You need her, as she needs you.{a}

Administratively St Helena is part of a three-island Territory: St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha

Our Sister Islands

The rest of the trio

Previously the Territory of St Helena and Dependencies, when our new Constitution was adopted on 1st September 2009 the territory became known as ‘St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha’. All three islands{1} share the same Constitution, and the same Governor.

St Helena is (obviously) described in detail on this site. We do not (and have no plans to) provide equivalent sites for Ascension Island and Tristan da Cunha, but due to their close historic and cultural links to St Helena we do provide some basic information on each:

Ascension flag Ascension Island

Tristan da Cunha flag Tristan da Cunha

The other British Overseas Territory in the South Atlantic is the Falkland Islands, where many Saints work and which includes South Georgia, but which is not administratively linked to St Helena.

SEE ALSO: For some rather smaller islands, somewhat closer, see Islands.

One that got away…

Note that our assumed sister island, St Helena Nova, side-by-side with us in the South Atlantic, never actually existed!

Read More

St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Constitution Order

(S.I. 2009 No.1751 (UK))


Commencement: 1 September 2009

Revocations: The St Helena Constitution Order 1988 and the St Helena Constitution Order 1989 are revoked with effect from the appointed day.

Change of name and establishment of Constitution: From the appointed day -

  1. the territory of St Helena and Dependencies shall be called St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha; and

  2. the Constitution shall have effect in St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha in accordance with section 1 of the Constitution.

The full Constitution can be downloaded from our page Our Constitution.


{a} George R.R. Martin


{1} There are three inhabited islands, but all three have a number of associated islands, of varying sizes.